interlude

It’s been an insanely busy couple of weeks. I am incredibly pleased to announce that tomorrow I’ll be Convocating with my MSLIS in Library Science and a Certificate in Cultural Heritage Preservation (the larger Commencing will be on Sunday). This graduation ends 13 years of nearly continuous collegiate pursuits, and, oh, what?.. 25 years of schooling. To say that I’m disoriented by my changing life roles may be an understatement.

So, seeking to ease the transition, I’m doing one of the things that I most love to do–road trip!

(Although, I far prefer my Subie Forester! Sign and actual vehicle found at the Tallahassee Antique Car Museum: http://tacm.com/. )

Included points of interest include Baltimore, MD; Syracuse, NY; Trenton, Ontario; Hemmingford, Quebec; and finally, several destinations in Maine.

The best part of this trip is that it combines the poignancy of visiting distant friends, the intellectual thrill of on-site research, and the soul-soothing balm of exploring new roads (and if my ancestors are any indication, I’m a predisposed rover!). The only downside is that I can’t get “Life is a Highway” out of my head…

“…Through all the cities and all these towns, it’s in my blood and it’s all around”

Leave a comment

Filed under personal chronicles

Leave a Reply

